Track Party

Yesterday was a slow day for me at first, but by 4:30 I was in middle of one of the best Yoga classes I have had at Y2 so far. It was a Power Mixed class and I felt I was able to express every pose to my fullest ability. I can already see improvements after only a week of daily practice (after a very long hiatus of yoga!).

I am more than willing to try different kinds of exercise (Crossfit, Body Pump, Kick boxing, Rowing, whatever it is – I have done it!) but   I always come back to yoga and running.

After yoga, I had a short break to get ready for the Track Party. Joe, a few of our friends, and I have been planning this for about a month now. We are all runners and wanted to have a little friendly competition. We had a 1 mile race, a 400 meter race, and a discus throw (one of our friends owned one! weird!)

I finished 3rd in the one mile with a time of 6:15.
1:30 – lap 1
3:05 – lap 2
4:47 – lap 3
6:15 – lap 4
I felt really good on this run and felt as if I was really pushing myself to my limits. I am only 17 seconds from my PR! Not bad for not having run the mile competitively in 5 years.

I finished last in the 400 with a time of 1:18. Grr. I’ll get ’em next time.

After all was said and done, we weighed the results based on All American times for men and women. The calculated results led me to win an obnoxious homemade trophy. Seriously, this thing is ridiculous with gold spray paint and an action figure on top.

I went to bed happy and tired. 🙂

This morning I went to an 8 am Power Mixed class at Y2. It was yet another great class.

I came home and ate peanut butter and banana on toast for breakfast with a small glass of skim milk annnnd a small banana muffin with a little pb, as well. They are just too good to pass up!

Have a Terrific Thursday!

Leave a Reply

