How to Detoxify after an Indulgent Weekend

Yesterday was a really fun day. I still can’t believe Joe and I won the corn hole competition! I was so excited that I went a little crazy with the celebration afterwards (read: lots of sugary sweets).

It happens to the best of us but when it does happen I like to “detoxify” the next day. Here are a few things I do:

1. Drink Green Monsters

Today’s lunch was a Green Monster Mango Smoothie

If you like Starbucks Orange Mango Smoothie, then you will love this too! It is very similar. In fact, Starbucks was my inspiration. 🙂

In the mix: 1 cup milk, a couple handfuls of spinach, TJ’s frozen mango, half frozen banana, and vanilla protein powder

I love drinking Green Monsters after I have had a particularly indulgent weekend because they are full of vitamins to help replenish your body after having some empty calories. Also, they prevent me from feeling bloated.

PS – This made A LOT. I couldn’t finish it all but it was definitely the best Green Monster I have made so far.

2. Hot Yoga

Today, I took a Hot Power Mixed class at Y2 Yoga. Hot yoga is perfect for detoxing your body. The stretching and twisting will help bring fresh oxygenated blood throughout your whole body. Plus, sweating is a great way to release toxins and cleanse your body.

3. Hydrate

It’s always important to stay hydrated, but sometimes water is not enough (especially if you are doing hot yoga in the summer time!). Rehydrate with coconut water before/after a hot yoga class. Your body will need to the electrolytes to stay energized throughout class.


4.
Exercise

Get your heart pumping and burn some calories. Today, instead of running (today was a rest day), I did a lot of walking. Do whatever it is you love to do.

—–

I believe in balance and moderation leads to a healthy body and mind. However, there is a point where you can go overboard in your indulgences. In a way, I find detoxifying to be indulgent itself. Spending time to focus on taking care of your body IS indulgent. Think about that next time you plan on having another glass of wine or piece of cake. Remember what makes you and your body feel healthy and strong.

Leave a Reply

