Running on Empty

This morning I ran 6 miles without a pre-workout breakfast. Dun Dun Dun…

In high school, I ran almost all of my long runs without eating beforehand. It never seemed to affect my running performance. I started eating a pre-workout snack in the past few years. Lately, I have been feeling sick about halfway all of my hard/long runs if I eat before. So, I decided to not eat before runs (unless I am really hungry or it’s going to be a really long run). I didn’t feel sick at all during this run so I found it to be a success.

I found an interesting article in Runner’s World in the most recent issue about how it is important to run some workouts without fuel. It teaches your body to use calories/fat more effectively during your long runs so you don’t need constant refueling.

Have you ever gone a long run without a pre-workout snack? How did you feel? Will you try running without fuel?

I finished the 6 miles in 54 minutes and 45 seconds. I think I started out a bit too fast (I get excited, ya know?) so the last three miles felt like a bit of a struggle.

When I got home, I guzzled down some ice cold water and made a small batch of these:

Oatmeal pancakes with peanut butter and egg whites for protein. I found the recipe online. These were good but not the best. I am going to adjust the recipe to share with you guys.

Enjoy your Sunday!

3 responses to “Running on Empty

  1. I go back and forth on this. If it’s 6 miles or less, I rarely eat anything beforehand. Longer than that, I’ll have something very small, like half an English muffin or crumpet, then rely on GU’s or Honey Waffle Stinger’s during the run. It seems to work for me.

  2. If I run in the morning, I never eat breakfast. I’ve never tried bringing GUs or snacks along with me either. For the most part, I don’t get hungry! Might have to experiment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

