Spectacular 4 Miler

Highlights:ย The weather, playing “Grand Old Flag” at the start, just being at a race in general (love race vibes!), breaking 32, my racing hairdo

Shalane Flanagan is my inspiration. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Low points:ย I wasn’t even close to 30 minutes, 4 miles is an awkward race distance, the last two miles were all uphill, starting out too fast, and the annoying guy racing next to me

Pre race breakfast:


The Recap:ย I started off the race feeling good. I though I was running slower than I actually was. I ran the first mile in 7:30 which is way faster than what I have been doing in my workouts. This made me a little nervous but I thought I could hold on.

The first two miles were all downhill. Then, I turn the corner and hit mile 2 at 14:57. Then, came the uphill. The hill ripped me to shreds. I felt like I could have walked faster. At this point I knew I was no longer going to break 30.

The hill seemed to go on forever. To make it even worse there was a guy who constantly would sprint ahead of me and then walk. Every time I caught up to hwould would start sprinting again! It drove me almost to start yelling,”Stop doing that!!” but I kept my cool.

I reached mile 3 in 23:40 something. I couldn’t believe I still had a mile left and there were more hills! I tried to pick up the pace and think good thoughts. The final stretch was super long. I felt like I was never going to get to the finish line. The annoying guy and I were neck and neck. To save my sanity I kicked it into high gear and beat him.

I finished in 31:40 something. They have not posted the results yet, so I am just estimating.

Now it’s time to start training for the next race (and redeem myself)! I haven’t decided what I am going to sign up for yet but I do know that I am going to incorporate some hills into my workouts!

Joe did really well. He broke 30 minutes and he just did it “off the couch!”

Now it’s pool time!

Happy 4th o’ July!

4 responses to “Spectacular 4 Miler

Leave a Reply

