Hard Times

On Saturday morning, I met up with my high school xc team mate, Kylie, to run 8 miles in the Arboretum.  Kylie is an AMAZING runner and friend.  We have supported each other through our ups and downs in running and life.  We always go on a run and catch up when I am back in Asheville.

Here is a VERY old photo of us goofing around at a restaurant the night before a big meet.  Kylie is on the top and I am 2nd from the bottom.

We decided to meet at the Hard Times trail head.  If any of you are familiar with the Arboretum in Asheville we went up Hard Times, went left and up South Ridge, then ran the Explorer loop and back to Hard Times trail head.  Hard Times = LOTS of hills, which is what I do not have in Charlotte.  I knew this run was going to be tougher than my 8 mile run last week in Charlotte, which was COMPLETELY flat.  The first 30 minutes of this run was tough, since the majority of it was a fairly steep uphill.  I was happy to be running uphill though – I miss running in the mountains!  After South Ridge, there were more rolling hills and I was actually able to talk to Kylie. 🙂

The run felt great though.  My legs felt refreshed afterwards and we finished in 1 hour and 12 minutes.  I thought it was going to be much slower than my time last week because of all the hills.  I was surprised (and happy) that my time was only 1 minute slower than last week.  I think Kylie helped me push through the hard parts of the run.  She’s a great running partner!

After our run, we went to Panera to drink some smoothies.   Word of advice:  After your next long run, go to your nearest Panera and order a smoothie.  It’s unbelievably refreshing after a long, hot run.  Mango is divine.

After we departed I went home and showered and headed to Joe’s parent’s house to help his mom prepare for the graduation celebration.  My main job was chopping.  I chopped strawberries, oranges, limes, grapes, potatoes, salami, green peppers, and onions.  The food looked so good – it was hard to wait for the next day to eat it.

That evening we went to Joe’s sister’s, Jessika, graduation.

Graduation was like most graduations….a bit boring, but Jessika seemed very happy.

Today is Jessika’s graduation party.  I finally get to eat all of the food I chopped! 🙂

Enjoy your Sunday and Happy Running!

 

Leave a Reply

