Got Iron?

I took a 2.5 hour nap today and last night I slept for 7 hours.  The night before I slept for 10 hours.  Over the past week or so, I have been complaining to Joe that I frequently feel tired.  He is starting to get worried that my iron levels are getting low (He is such a sweetie to worry!).

Fortunately, on the menu tonight was beef chili…the perfect meal for a iron boost. 😉

Image

On a more serious note, I have a doctors appointment in the next few weeks, so I will be able to get some blood work done.  It’s very important for runner’s (especially women runners) to check their iron levels because low iron levels can affect your performance.

According to Web MD here are the top ten iron rich foods:
1. Red meat
2. Egg yolks
3. Dark, leafy greens
4. Dried Fruit
5. Iron enriched cereals and grains
6. Mollusks (clams, oysters, scallops)
7. Turkey or Chicken giblets (ew…)
8. Beans, lentils, chickpeas, and soybeans
9. Liver (ew…)
10. Artichokes

Eat ’em up, ladies!

In addition to eating iron, you should also eat Vitamin C at the same time.  The Vitamin C helps your body to absorb the iron.  Who knew?!

Tonight, I ran a workout.  Despite my sluggishness, I immediately perked up when I started running.

1 mile warm up
3 x 800 meters @ 3:26 w/ 400 meter jogs
1 mile cool down

first 800 = 3:38 – There was a short, steep hill in this repeat
second 800 = 3:34
third 800 = 3:19 (!) – I always surprise myself. 🙂

Reader Question: Do you have any recipes that are rich in iron?  Do share!

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

